入场

初级中学

申请巴克利初级学院的步骤

4个项目的清单。

  • 第 1 步:创建家长门户网站并在线申请

    请首先创建 家长门户网站。通过家长门户网站,您可以安排参观巴克利校园、报名参加本学期的招生活动、提交申请步骤 1 和步骤 2、完成清单项目等!
  • 第 2 步:安排家长/监护人面谈

    • K-5 级兄弟姐妹/教职工家庭 申请截止日期:2023 年 10 月 13 日
    • K-5 级优先申请截止日期:2023 年 11 月 13 日(保证参加虚拟面试或面谈(如有可能)
    • 标准 K-5 级申请截止日期:2023 年 12 月 13 日(根据可用情况虚拟)
    • 必须完成申请表的第 2 步,才能收到面试邀请。
    • 家长/监护人面试名额有限。 
    • 申请表已于 8 月初上线。我们建议您尽快申请,以便安排家长/监护人面谈,额满为止。
    • 兄弟姐妹/教职员工家属面试为可选项
  • 步骤 3:幼儿园同乐日和 1-5 年级评估

    • 只有在完成申请(第 1 步和第 2 步)后,您才会收到有关预约游玩日期/评估名额的信息。
    • 幼儿园兄弟姐妹申请者只有在完成第 2 步申请(第 1 步和第 2 步)后,才会收到幼儿园同乐日的预约信息。幼儿园兄弟姐妹同乐日将于11 月中旬举行。 
    • 一至五年级的兄弟姐妹申请人将收到2024 年 1 月进行的评估的详细信息。 
  • 第四步:提交所需表格

    • 幼儿园申请人:学前班评估必须在 11/01/23且不得迟于 01/12/24
    • 学术记录和推荐信必须在以下日期之后提交 11/01/23且不得迟于 01/12/24
感谢你有兴趣加入巴克利学校社区。 申请入读低年级(幼儿园至五年级)的截止日期是 2023 年 12 月 15 日(星期五)。低年级优先录取截止日期为 2023 年 11 月 13 日(星期一)。
 
巴克利的低年级课程融合了传统和创新,强调创造性、协作性和个性化教学,在一个适合学生发展的学术课程中,激发学生挑战自我,承担学习的风险。所有年级的学生都沉浸在每周专业课的丰富课程中。该计划依靠最近的神经科学研究来指导教学实践,使教师能够解决学生学习风格的差异。社会和情感发展是每个低年级班级的核心,并以明确的认识开始,即孩子和老师之间的关系是有效学习的关键。通过优先了解每个学生,老师们创造了课堂环境,让每个孩子都得到认可,并知道在巴克利,他们属于自己。

如果您有任何问题,请随时联系我们:admissions@buckley.org或留言:(818) 461-6719。我们期待着未来一年的精彩。

活动预告

6项活动的清单。

查看所有活动
如需报名参加这些活动,请登录家长门户网站

有问题吗?

1个项目的清单。

常见问题

17 个常见问题清单。

  • 什么时候提交申请?

    所有对巴克利的申请必须在网上提交。

    低年级
    申请入读低年级(幼儿园至五年级)的截止日期是 2023 年 12 月 15 日(星期五)。低年级优先录取截止日期为 2023 年 11 月 13 日(星期一)。

    初中部/高中部
    申请入读初中部和高中部(六至十二年级)的截止日期为 2024 年 1 月 5 日星期五。初中部/高中部优先录取的截止日期为 2023 年 11 月 13 日(星期一)。

    逾期申请只有在截止日期后仍有空位的情况下才接受。
     
    证明材料:所有辅助材料,如推荐信和成绩单,必须在2024年1月5 星期五之前收到
  • 我可以提前递交申请吗?

    是的。我们鼓励学生和家庭在截止日期前交回申请,以便尽早安排所需的面试。然而,学生当前学校的表格要到2024年1月5日星期五才到期。我们建议这些表格尽可能在1月5日之前提交给我们,以便我们能够获得有关该学生的最新信息。只有在我们收到所有的申请材料后,我们才能开始评估过程。
  • 我们何时会被通知录取决定?

    所有录取决定的通知时间不早于 在指定的决定日下午5:00通过电子邮件通知。.

    幼儿园至12年级的申请者将被通知 2024年3月8日,星期五 和答复的截止日期为 2024年3月15日(星期五)中午12:00。
  • 每个年级招收多少名学生?

    大多数学生都是在幼儿园、六年级、七年级和九年级入学。我们每年在幼儿园招收约44名学生。学校六年级招收20名新生,七年级和九年级大约招收25至30名新生。八年级、十年级和十一年级招收的学生人数是根据可用空间而定的,每年可能有所不同。

    我们通常不招收12年级的学生,因为学生很难匹配课程。如果学生从外州搬到本地区,偶尔也会有例外。我们力求招收来自不同学校和背景的学生。
  • 是否需要进行入学面试?

    幼儿园至5年级申请者的面试只与未来学生的父母或监护人进行;有亲自面试,也有虚拟面试。所有初中和高中的申请者及其家长/监护人都必须完成与招生委员会成员的虚拟面试。只有在收到完整的入学申请后,才会安排面试。
  • 巴克利学校在性别平等和包容方面的立场是什么?

    巴克利学校致力于承认和肯定我们所有性别的学生的丰富多样性。我们是一个体现和赞美性、性取向、性别认同和表达的复杂和多面性的学校社区,这反映了我们朝向公平和包容的使命的指导原则。请到巴克利的DEI网站了解更多关于学术和课外活动经验的宝贵组成部分,为学生上大学做准备,以及在全球社区中航行的信息。
  • 是否有财政援助?

    是的。作为我们对多元化学生群体承诺的一部分,巴克利的 财政援助计划 是为了给学生和家庭提供一个在其他情况下无法选择的上学机会。在2021-2022学年,财政援助和Covid助学金的预算为640万美元,28%的学生获得财政援助和Covid助学金。然而,每年的申请都多于可用的助学金。虽然预算无法满足每个人的需求,但我们鼓励所有感兴趣的家庭提出申请。

    补助金是根据财政援助委员会的审查和学校与学生服务处(SSS)确定的家庭经济需要而发放的。

    如果你有任何关于财政援助的问题,请致电(818)461-6707。所有援助申请的截止日期是2024年2月15日。
  • 如果我的孩子没有被录取,我如何重新申请?

    招生委员会希望掌握所有申请入学者的最新信息,因此,前一年的申请不能自动重新启动。任何未被录取的学生,如果希望在下一学年得到考虑,应致电招生办公室讨论个人情况。新的申请和推荐表可以通过招生办公室获得。请家长提交所有新的表格以及125美元不可退还的申请费和申请人的新照片。
  • 学生与教师的比例是多少?

    我们的师生比例是8:1。巴克利以提供小班教学和为学生提供充足的个人关注而自豪。初中部的平均班级规模为17人,高中部的平均班级规模为14人。

    低年级的班级规模略有不同,但幼儿园有两名教师,每班20-22名学生。一至五年级的班级规模在20至23人之间,每个教室有一名教师和一名副教师。我们的许多专家都是半班授课,从而降低了低年级所有年级的学生与教师的比例。
  • 我的孩子有哪些交通选择?

    家庭可以选择参加我们的校车服务项目,或者在正常的到校和放学时间内以车代步的方式往返于学校。巴克利学校与 "风滚草运输公司 "签订合同,提供每日巴士服务。九条便捷的路线覆盖了圣费尔南多谷西部以及洛杉矶、贝弗利山、卡尔弗城、威斯切斯特,甚至远至太平洋帕里塞德。

    下午的巴士在下午3:30离开校园,然后在5:45再次为初中和高中的学生在课后参与课外活动。通过学校的拼车搜索计划提供拼车匹配和帮助。
  • 是否有校服?

    是的。所有巴克利学生必须穿校服。有多种选择,但是所有的学生都必须按照学校的制服政策来穿着。有时,学校会有主题日,学生可以穿符合主题的服装而不是校服。例如,在大红色日,学生被邀请穿红色的衣服。

    巴克利校服可通过丹尼斯校服公司购买。所有学生都可以穿巴克利运动衫,这些运动衫也可以通过丹尼斯制服公司和家长协会出售。初中和高中学生可以穿巴克利运动队、巴克利俱乐部或表演艺术的运动衫。
  • 你们有热午餐计划吗?

    巴克利学校与Freshlunches签订合同,提供每日热午餐服务。他们的菜单着重于高质量的天然或有机的当地食材,并为各种饮食限制提供选择。
  • 对国际学生是否有特殊的入学要求?

    国际学生必须提供本学年以及前两年的正式成绩单(除非申请幼儿园-3年级),并附上正式的英文翻译。

    国际学生还应该遵循低年级初中高年级页面上的入学程序。
  • 巴克利能帮助为国际学生寻找寄宿家庭吗?

    不可以。在学生被巴克利学校录取之前,学生必须有一个父母或成年监护人,在学年期间可以和他或她一起居住。
  • 我是一名国际学生。我怎样才能从学校获得I-20表格?

    一旦你被录取并支付了全部综合费用,学校将签发I-20表,允许学生在巴克利学校就读,直至毕业。如果你是从美国境内的其他学校转来的,你必须与巴克利的招生主任联系,以便填写转学I-20表。
  • 巴克利是否提供ESL(英语作为第二语言)课程?

    不是。由于巴克利的大学预科课程竞争激烈,要求非常高,所有学生都必须精通英语。
  • 如果我的学校不为申请私立/独立学校的学生写推荐信怎么办?

    如果你目前所在的学校不为申请私立/独立学校的学生写推荐信,那么可以通过以下方式满足检查表的要求。

    1.父母/监护人推荐信。 由非亲属的社区成员为家长/监护人写的认可信,说明。 
    • 他们认识父母/监护人多久了。
    • 推荐人如何以及在什么情况下认识该家长/监护人。
    • 描述家长/监护人在学校社区背景下将如何做出贡献的属性和品质(过去/现在的参与、领导力、家长风格等)。
    2. 学生推荐信。 同样,由非亲属的社区成员(辅导员、教练/讲师、社区领袖)为学生申请人出具的认可信,说明。 
    • 他们认识父母/监护人多久了。
    • 推荐人如何以及在什么情况下认识该学生。
    • 描述学生在学校社区背景下将如何做出贡献的属性和品质(过去/现在的参与,领导力,他们如何与他人(同龄人和成年人)合作,等等)。
    品德技能快照。欲了解更多信息或注册您的学生申请人,请访问网站

其他通识教育常见问题

1 个常见问题清单。

巴克利学校接纳任何种族、肤色、民族或族裔、公民身份、性别、身体残疾、宗教、性取向、性别认同或表达方式的学生,享受学校一般给予或提供给学生的所有权利、特权、计划和活动。巴克利学校在管理其教育政策、招生政策、奖学金和贷款项目以及体育和其他学校管理的项目时,不存在基于种族、肤色、民族或族裔出身、公民身份、性别、身体残疾、宗教、性取向、性别认同或表达或任何其他受适用法律保护的特征的歧视。

Admission

Lower School

Steps to Apply to Buckley's Lower School

List of 4 items.

  • Step 1: Create a Parent Portal & Apply Online

    Please begin by creating a Parent Portal. The Parent Portal will give you the opportunity to schedule a visit to the Buckley campus, register for admission events this season, submit application Step 1 & 2, complete checklist items, and much more!
  • Step 2: Schedule Parent/Guardian Interview

    • K-5 Sibling/Faculty-Staff Families Applications Due: October 11, 2024
    • Priority K-5 Applications Due: November 11, 2024 (guaranteed interview for virtual OR in-person, if available)
    • Standard K-5 Applications Due: December 10, 2024 (virtual based on availability)
    • Step 2 of the Application must be completed in order to receive an invitation to schedule the interview.
    • Space is limited for parent/guardian interviews. 
    • The application went live in late May. We recommend applying ASAP in order to schedule an in-person parent/guardian interview while appointments last.
    • Sibling/faculty-staff family interviews are optional.
  • Step 3: Kindergarten Playdates & Grades 1-5 Assessments

    • You will only receive information on reserving a spot for the playdate/assessment after the application is completed (both steps 1 & 2).
    • Kindergarten sibling applicants will only receive information on reserving a spot for the kindergarten playdate after Step 2 of the application is completed (both Steps 1 & 2). Kindergarten sibling playdates will be hosted in mid-November
    • Grades 1-5 sibling applicants will receive details for an assessment that will occur in January 2025
  • Step 4: Submit Required Forms

    • Kindergarten Applicants: Preschool Evaluation must be submitted after 11/01/24 and no later than 01/10/25
    • Academic records and letters of rec must be submitted after 11/01/24 and no later than 01/10/24
Thank you for your interest in joining The Buckley School community. The deadline for applying for admission to the Lower School (kindergarten through grade 5) is Tuesday, December 10, 2024. The deadline for priority admission to the Lower School is Monday, November 11, 2024.
 
Buckley’s Lower School curriculum blends tradition and innovation, emphasizing creativity, collaboration, and individualized teaching in a developmentally appropriate academic program that inspires students to challenge themselves and take risks as learners. Across all grades, students are immersed in a rich program of weekly specialized classes. The program relies upon recent research in neuroscience to inform instructional practice, allowing teachers to address differences in student learning styles. Social and emotional development stands at the core of each Lower School classroom and begins with the explicit understanding that the relationship between child and teacher is key to effective learning. By making it a priority to get to know each student well, teachers create classroom environments where every child is acknowledged and knows that at Buckley, they belong.

Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at admissions@buckley.org or leave a message at (818) 461-6719. We look forward to an exciting year ahead.
To register for these events, please log onto your Parent Portal.

FAQs

List of 17 frequently asked questions.

  • When are applications due?

    All applications to Buckley must be submitted online.

    Lower School
    The deadline for applying for admission to the Lower School (kindergarten through grade 5) is Tuesday, December 10, 2024. The deadline for priority admission to the Lower School is Monday, November 11, 2024.

    Middle/Upper School
    The deadline for applying for admission to the Middle and Upper Schools (grades six through twelve) is Friday, January 3, 2025. The deadline for priority admission to the Middle/Upper School is Monday, November 11, 2024.

    Late applications will be accepted only if space remains available after the deadline.
     
    Supporting Materials: All supporting materials, such as recommendations and transcripts, must be received by Friday, January 10, 2025.
  • Can I turn in the application early?

    Yes. We encourage students and families to return their applications prior to the deadline so that the required interviews can be scheduled as early as possible. Forms from the student’s current school, however, are not due until Friday, January 10, 2025. We recommend these forms be submitted to us as close to January 10 as possible so we can have the most recent and up-to-date information regarding the student. Only after we have received all the pieces of an application can we begin the evaluation process.
  • When will we be notified of our admission decision?

    All admission decisions are notified no earlier than 5:00 p.m. via e-mail on the designated decision day.

    Applicants to grades K-12 will be notified on Friday, March 14, 2025 and responses are due by 12:00 noon on Friday, March 21, 2025.
  • How many students are admitted to each grade?

    Most students are admitted in kindergarten, grade six, grade seven, and grade nine. We enroll approximately 44 students in kindergarten each year. The school enrolls 20 new students for grade six and approximately 25 to 30 new students in grades seven and nine. The number of students admitted for grades eight, 10, and 11 are based on available space and may vary from year to year.

    We typically do not admit students to grade 12, because it is difficult for students to match the curriculum. An exception will occasionally be made if a student is moving to the area from out-of-state. We seek to enroll students from a variety of schools and backgrounds.
  • Is an admission interview required?

    Yes. Interviews for K-5 applicants are conducted with only the parents or guardians of the prospective student; in-person interviews, as well as virtual interviews, are available. All prospective Middle and Upper School applicants and their parents/guardians are required to complete a virtual interview with a member of the Admission Committee. Interviews are scheduled only upon the receipt of a completed admission application.
  • What is The Buckley School's position on gender equity and inclusion?

    The Buckley School is committed to recognizing and affirming the rich diversity of our students of all genders. We are a school community that embodies and celebrates the complex and multidimensional nature of sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, and expression as a reflection of the guiding principles of our mission toward equity and inclusion. Please go to DEI at Buckley for more information on the invaluable components of an academic and co-curricular experience, preparing students for college, and navigating a global community.
  • Is financial assistance available?

    Yes. As part of our commitment to a diverse student body, Buckley’s financial assistance program is designed to provide students and families with an opportunity to attend the school when it would not have been an option otherwise. In the 2021-2022 school year, $6.4 million was budgeted for financial assistance and Covid grants, and 28% of students received financial aid and Covid grants. Each year, however, there are more applications than available grant money. While the budget cannot accommodate everyone’s needs, all interested families are encouraged to apply.

    Grants are awarded to families based on the Financial Aid Committee’s review, and a family’s economic need as determined by School & Student Services By NAIS (SSS).

    If you have any questions regarding financial assistance, please call (818) 461-6707. All aid applications are due by January 3, 2025.
  • How do I re-apply if my child was not admitted?

    The Admission Committee wishes to have the most current and up-to-date information on all applicants to the school and, therefore, applications from the previous year cannot be automatically reactivated. Any student who was not offered admission and wishes to be considered for the following academic year should call the Admission Office to discuss the individual situation. New applications and recommendation forms are available through the Admission Office. Parents are asked to submit all new forms along with the $125 nonrefundable application fee and a new photograph of the applicant.
  • What is the student-to-teacher ratio?

    Our student to teacher ratio is 8:1. Buckley prides itself on offering small classes and providing its students with plenty of personal attention. The average class size in the Middle School is 17, and the average class size in the Upper School is 14.

    Lower School class sizes vary slightly, but kindergarten has two teachers with a class of 20–22 students. Grades one through five offer class sizes between 20 and 23 students with a teacher and an associate teacher in each room. Many of our specialists work with half classes, thereby reducing the student to teacher ratio for all grades in the Lower School.
  • What are the transportation options available for my child?

    Families have the choice to participate in our bus service program or to travel to and from school in carpools during regular arrival and dismissal hours. The Buckley School contracts with Tumbleweed Transportation to provide daily bus service. Nine convenient routes cover the west San Fernando Valley as well as Los Angeles, Beverly Hills, Culver City, Westchester, and as far as Pacific Palisades.

    Afternoon buses depart campus at 3:30 p.m. and then again at 5:45 p.m. for Middle and Upper School students involved in extracurricular activities after school. Carpool matching and assistance are provided through the school’s carpool search program.
  • Is there a school uniform?

    Yes. All Buckley students must wear the school uniform. Various options are available, but all students must dress in accordance with the uniform policy of the school. On occasion, the school has theme days where students can wear clothing in line with theme rather than their uniform. For example, on Big Red Day students are invited to wear clothing that is red in color.

    Buckley uniforms are available through the Dennis Uniform Company. All students are permitted to wear Buckley sweatshirts, also sold through the Dennis Uniform Company and the Parents’ Association. Middle and Upper School students are permitted to wear Buckley athletic team, Buckley club, or performing arts sweatshirts.
  • Do you have a hot lunch program?

    The Buckley School contracts with Freshlunches to provide daily hot lunch service. Their menu focuses on high-quality natural or organic local ingredients and offers options for various dietary restrictions.
  • Are there special admission requirements for international students?

    International students must provide official transcripts for the current school year, as well as for the previous two years (unless applying to K-3), with an official English translation included.

    International students should also follow the admission processes outlined on the Lower School, Middle School, and Upper School pages.
  • Can Buckley help find host families for international students?

    No. Before a student can be admitted to Buckley, the student must have a parent or adult guardian with whom he or she can reside with during the school year.
  • I am an international student. How can I obtain an I-20 Form from the school?

    Once you are admitted and the entire comprehensive fee has been paid, the school will issue a Form I-20, which permits a student to attend The Buckley School until he or she graduates. If you are transferring from another school within the United States, you must contact the Director of Admission at Buckley in order to complete a transfer Form I-20.
  • Does Buckley offer ESL (English as a Second Language) courses?

    No. Due to the highly competitive and very demanding college preparatory curriculum at Buckley, all students must be proficient in English.
  • What if my school will not write recommendation letters for students applying to private/independent schools?

    If you are currently at a school that will not write letters of recommendation for students applying to a private/Independent school, then the checklist requirement can be fulfilled with the following:

    1. Parent/Guardian Recommendation Letter: Letter of endorsement written for the parent(s)/guardian(s) from a community member that is a non-relative stating: 
    • How long they have known the parent(s)/guardian(s).
    • How and under what circumstances does the recommender know the parent(s)/guardian(s).
    • Describe attributes and qualities on how the parent(s)/guardian(s) would contribute in the context of a school community (past/current involvement, leadership, parenting style, and etc.)
    2. Student Recommendation Letter: Similarly, a letter of endorsement for the student applicant from a community member (tutor, coach/instructor, community leader) who is a non-relative stating: 
    • How long they have known the parent(s)/guardian(s).
    • How and under what circumstances does the recommender know the student.
    • Describe attributes and qualities on how the student would contribute in the context of a school community (past/current involvement, leadership, how they work with others (peers and adults) and etc.)
    Character Skills Snapshot: For more information or to register your student applicant, please go to the website.

Additional LS FAQs

List of 1 frequently asked questions.

The Buckley School admits students of any race, color, national or ethnic origin, citizenship, sex, physical disability, religion, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. The Buckley School does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national or ethnic origin, citizenship, sex, physical disability, religion, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression or any other characteristics protected by applicable law in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic and other school administered programs.